Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2010, 03:49 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K-x or K-r?

I am new to DSLRs and this will be my first one. I like both the K-x and the K-r and can't choose between the 2. So my question is this.

Are the upgrades offered by the K-r worth the extra $300 or so difference between the two for a first time DSLR buyer? I am looking at the kit that includes the 18-55mm and the 55-300mm lense for each.

Appreciate the help!

11-04-2010, 04:03 PM   #2
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by DangerMoose Quote
I am new to DSLRs and this will be my first one. I like both the K-x and the K-r and can't choose between the 2. So my question is this.

Are the upgrades offered by the K-r worth the extra $300 or so difference between the two for a first time DSLR buyer? I am looking at the kit that includes the 18-55mm and the 55-300mm lense for each.

Appreciate the help!

To be honest, and people here might kill me for this, but if you havent had a dslr before AND are relatively new to more advanced photography, I would actually suggest a Nikon d40, d60, d3100 as they offer superb in camera help and explanations which make understanding why you are choosing a setting over another much much easier. Except for the d3100 they are pretty inexpensive as well

I started out on a d60 which was great to learn on and very capable. I just got a k-r and while it is absolutely fantastic, I am still a bit bewildered by all the settings and modes on offer. And the in camera help is pretty much non-existant.

That said if its only gonna be k-x vs k-r and its your first. I'd go for the k-r the extra features like showing the af points for one will make it much easier to learn on
11-04-2010, 04:17 PM   #3
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Deimos Quote