Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2010, 11:39 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
What to get next?

Hi everyone. My first posting here.

I got my first DSLR last august, the K-x. I'm not entirely new to photographing however. My previous camera was Panasonic DMC FZ7 and you could shoot in full manual mode with it (even manual focus). It took pretty good photos thanks to Leica optics (f2.8 at wide end of the zoom) but with smaller sensor and only 6mpix was getting a bit old.

I'm quite pleased with my K-x but I soon realised that getting a new camera doesn't make you any better at photographing So I'm still learning.

Initially I bought Tamron 70-300mm with the K-x kit. I really like it actually. F5.6 is not that bad in the 200-300 range.
Recently I spent a week in Prague and bought two old russian made m42 lenses from a local camera shop. Helios 58mm f2 and Industar 50mm f3.5 (funny looking little lens). Haven't tried them that much yet.

Now I'm wondering what to get next. Friend of mine is a semi-professional photographer (canon enthusiast) and he suggested to me a basic list: decent flash (metz 50 or something), fast normal zoom, fast tele-zoom and fast prime. He is probably right but what to get first?

I have a budget of course. I just can't afford pentax 50-135mm f2.8 even if that would be an excellent addition. The same goes for pentax 60-250 f4. That's why I have been eyeing tamron 17-50 f2.8 and maybe 70-200mm f2.8 too. For the prime I can go pentax. But what to get? FA50? DA35? DA40? DA55 is again too expensive for me.

Flashes I haven't looked into yet. I have to admit that I'm quite a noob when it comes to flashes so I don't have a clue.

Any help is appreciated. As I said, I'm a DSLR newbie.

11-07-2010, 12:01 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums