Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-08-2010, 10:17 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Manual lenses and Focal length prompt question.

Ok I am new to digital DSLR's and am using on my K-X some M42 screw mount lenses that my father gave me. I have a Yashinon Tomioka 60MM macro lens. Being there is no 60MM focal length setting should I set it to 55MM or 65MM focal length? Or does it not make a large difference?

Thanks

Al

11-08-2010, 10:27 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Either one. It isn't going to make a lot of difference. I use 65 for my Voigtlander 58mm (just so I can decipher between what is what when I sort by focal length). Works fine.

60mm Tomioka? You decide you want to unload it, drop me a line.

11-08-2010, 10:51 PM   #3

Original Poster
Jeff,

Thanks for the quick response.

The pictures I have taken with the lens so far are very sharp even wide open and hand held. I am still playing with it as I am not much of a photographer but eager to learn. The lens was like brand new not a scratch on it. I was with my dad the day he purchased it at a base exchange. I was 5 years old. It was purchased in 1972 His equipment was always lovingly taken care of. I am very lucky

I am really enjoying playing with the manual lenses.

Al
11-09-2010, 05:55 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Al_T Quote
Jeff,

Thanks for the quick response.

The pictures I have taken with the lens so far are very sharp even wide open and hand held. I am still playing with it as I am not much of a photographer but eager to learn. The lens was like brand new not a scratch on it. I was with my dad the day he purchased it at a base exchange. I was 5 years old. It was purchased in 1972 His equipment was always lovingly taken care of. I am very lucky

I am really enjoying playing with the manual lenses.

Al
Congratulations, free lenses are the most fun IMHO.

11-09-2010, 06:05 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums