Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-11-2010, 07:33 PM   #1

Slightly out of focus-K20D

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to this site as well as to photography. I have recently purchased a K-20D with Pentax 18-250mm lens. So far I have only been using the Auto mode (green on the dial) and am very disappointed with the photos. The color seems to be fairly accurate in the photos but they are just not crisp and clear. They almost appear slightly out of focus. When I push the button down halfway to focus the indicater in the screen is never flashing so it leads me to believe it is in focus, BUT IT"S NOT!!!
Would appreciate ANY help. If I cannot get it right in auto mode chances are I will sell the camera due to frustration level.

Thanks,

11-11-2010, 07:51 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Your photos might be suffering form motion blur, as that lens has a fairly small aperture. You should post some sample photos, and we'll be able to tell what the cause is!

Make sure you leave EXIF information intact in your photos. If you attach them using the attachment system, that information will automatically be read by out system and displayed in your post

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-11-2010, 08:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Could also be front/back focusing... I went thru 3 K20d's to get one that wasn't doing it.

Pat
11-12-2010, 10:23 AM   #4

Photos: Albums
Set your auto focus to center.

11-12-2010, 11:00 AM   #5

Original Poster

Hello,