Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2010, 12:04 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter

What software is needed for someone new to dslrs?

Hello everyone.
I actually want to ask two questions. The first is for someone starting out in dslr photography, is photoshop elements 9 good enough for now to process my pictures or do I need additional software? Question number two is has anyone bought their dslr camera from an online store, eg. B and H, Abe's of Maine, Amazon etc., and would they recommend it?

11-12-2010, 12:45 PM   #2

I'm still a beginner myself in the digital darkroom and processing images; however, I have found a few things that work well for me ... and some that didn't. First, if the Pentax DCU software runs well on your computer (as it luckily does on mine) it does a fine job of raw conversion with some nice image tweaking options. And it's free with your camera. I use it for most of my post processing.

Here are some other programs I currently have installed and like.

IrfanView - Official Homepage - one of the most popular viewers worldwide (PC only), free
Great file viewer, fast, and allows some image manipulation

Photoscape : Free Photo Editing Software (Photo Editor) Download free
One can do an awful lot with this program, I'm surprised it's not more popular. It will even convert most raw files, though this is very limited in the sense that you have no control over how it performs that conversion. For jpg manipulation I really like it.

Paint.NET - Free Software for Digital Photo Editing free
Lots of features, lots of plug-ins available, layers, and more. Though it works well for digital photo work, I believe it was designed first and foremost for digital graphics art work. I've been using it to teach myself how to work with layers before I step up and lay out the money for Photoshop and the like.