Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2010, 12:28 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Best Beginner's DSLR Book/Manual?

I am new to Pentax with my K-x being delivered today and would like to know what book or manual would be best to learn dslr photography (in simple terms for my middle-aged brain ) besides, of course, the manual that comes with the camera. I know I had one such book many, many years ago with my film slr (Minolta) and can recall some things but not sure what is new/different on digital format. Any and all advice is most welcome!

11-12-2010, 01:17 PM   #2
REM
Forum Member

I would recommend Bryan Peterson's Understanding Exposure. It recently got a revision this year. I bought this book and I highly recommend it. I've had some dslr experience/classes before and this book is great for beginner/intermediate photographers. The author also has some good youtube videos out on the book's subject matter. The book also includes suggested exercises to help you progress and has good example photos.
11-12-2010, 01:25 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
+1 on Understanding Exposure. The new edition is even better. Read it twice or more.
11-12-2010, 02:07 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Another very good book I've recently run into is Exposure.

Photography book / Learn exposure / The BetterPhoto Guide to Exposure / Author and Photographer Sean Arbabi/ Exposure Book/ Photographic Exposure/ Ordering a photography book

I also think the first book in Scott Kelby's series is a quick read and provides good tips.
http://www.kelbytraining.com/product/the-digital-photography-book.html

This isn't to say that Understanding Exposure isn't any good, it is and I've read it.

Last edited by blackcloudbrew; 11-12-2010 at 03:36 PM. Reason: Updating my thoughts on the post.
11-12-2010, 02:30 PM   #5
Site Supporter

+10000