Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-14-2010, 08:54 AM   #1
Inactive Account

What could I have done Better?

I am completely new to DSLR's. Really never done any photography except snapshots here and there but for some reason got interested in photography a month or so back and did a little research and went out and got me a new camera. I received my K-x a couple of weeks ago and last night took some pics at the horse show. Seemed to be very difficult for the camera, ok, ok....... me, to figure out how to get the lighting? exposure? correct while still getting the horses in focus and not blurry.

I did read the manual and understand the absolute basics I think but that is about it..

So here is what I had to work with:

Indoor stadium, not very well light, fast moving horses.

Using my 55-300 kit lens.

I set it on Automatic first and the lighting was great but the horses were a blur.... so set it on manual and found that anything less than 200 shutter speed gave me blurry horses.

so set shutter on 1/200

1600 ISO was WAY too dark, so set it on 3200

and went with

F8

Still not the greatest pictures, too dark. I don't have any editing software, except the free google picasso in which I hit "I'm feeling lucky" and it brightened up the pictures a bit for me. I also cropped most of them.

So, next weekend there is another Grand Prix event here in town and I would like to improve my shots some. What advice can you give me..... thanks!!

Here are some of the pictures I took:

Picasa Web Albums - Tammy - 2010-11-13 du...

11-14-2010, 09:15 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Yeah, f8 in that environment is going to leave your images way too dark.
The 55-300 is a great lens, but just cannot open wide enough for low light events.