Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-14-2010, 12:09 PM   #1

Taking pictures of a Christmas tree?

I just can't seem to get a good picture of my Christmas tree. And I'm fairly new to photography so it's probably just easy settings that I don't know for this kind of shot.

They end up looking like this:
Name:  IMGP4779.jpg
Views: 2861
Size:  118.9 KB

Looks weirdly saturated and just not pleasant at all. I have a Pentax K-x and was using a kit lens at the time on the Shutter Priority setting. Any tips on what shutter/aperture setting would work better? I don't really want to shoot it in a really brightly lit room so I just had a lamp on in the room.

11-14-2010, 01:59 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Getting good photos of lit trees has always been hard for me as well. I think the problem is that the lights are so much brighter than the tree that the exposure settings don't work right.

Try it with a well lit room so that the lights are not as big a difference. That seems to work best for me.

It is a little like taking a picture of the moon. You think it is very dark but in reality the moon is very bright so the exposure has to be much faster than what you think or it just over-exposes.
11-14-2010, 02:24 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Start by setting your WB to Tungsten unless those are LED lights (Then I can't help you). Set your camera to Av and give yourself a small aperture (f8-f11), set your ISO to 100, and let the camera do the rest. No guarantee this is going to work any better, it's just a suggestion.

11-14-2010, 03:06 PM   #4
Ira
Inactive Account

Well, you definitely don't want to include that bookcase/videotape case in the shot!!!

1) You're shooting down on it, so your perspective is a little awkward. Xmas trees should look big and powerful.

2) If you have a tripod, set it real low looking more UP at it. If not, crouch done and use that angle.