Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-15-2010, 12:06 AM   #1

Of K20D's, kit lenses, weather, and bags.

First of all, hello! I started a thread on another forum that I frequent, asking about used DSLR's, and was recommended to give Pentax some serious consideration. I did, and now a refurbished K20D will be deposited onto my stoop come Tuesday, hopefully. I was also informed that this was the place to be if you have a Pentax.

Now I understand that the lens this camera ships with is not of the WR variety, but I anticipate that I'll be using this camera outdoors in the coming months, and it will probably be snowing at some point. How worried should I be about this? These won't be long excursions into the wilderness, more of just stepping outside while on campus, since I'm a student journalist.

I'm thinking that snow shouldn't be as terrible for a weather resistant lens as rain is, but if I'm wrong I'd love to know. I've read about people getting by.

Also I'm going to Microcenter tomorrow, to pick up one or two sdhc cards. I was checking online, and I found this.

Micro Center - LowePro Passport Sling Digital SLR Camera Bag Black LP36140-0EU

Does anyone have any experience with this bag? Does it seem like a good idea? Will it make me appear as a woman?

Thanks.

Last edited by Natheo; 11-15-2010 at 12:25 AM.
11-15-2010, 12:26 AM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If I were you, I'd go ahead and pick up a WR 18-55mm, as it's cheap and will let you not worry about your camera in the snow. The regular DA 18-55mm II can suffer from damage in bad weather.

Snow is deceptive- I've found that it melts just about as soon as it lands on your lens, which isn't a good thing. Last year, I was out shooting in light snow with the K-7 and the DA* 50-135mm, and came back 30 minutes later with pretty much a soaking wet camera It was quite surprising.

Adam