Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-16-2010, 05:46 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Confused

I have a number of questions.
1. Is there a difference between in camera stabilization and lens OS?
2. I have been looking at Sigma 10-20 3.5 and 12-24 which would be the better choice?
3. Other then highr iso and video would a jump from k20d to k5 be worth my while. I intend to keep k10d I like how it handles long exp. I hate the wait with the 20d and do not like the result after turning off dfs in debug.
I am still learning this digital stuff and really like the old style wet lab and film. I miss it. Maybe I should stop being lazy and set up my darkroom once again.
Anywho would appreciate any thoughts on abe questions.

11-16-2010, 06:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member

By the way, I'm old school too, and held out going digital far too long. No way I would want to go back, even though I still miss Kodachrome 25.
1. The results are the same between SR (Pentax) and IS (Canon). The difference is with SR, you have it for any lens attached, including older lenses. IS means every lens that carries it is bigger, heavier and more costly.
2. If you are talking about the Pentax 12-24, I think it is the best wide-angle zoom on the market.
3. I don't care at all about video and don't care much about high ISO, but I've got to have a K5 for many reasons beyond those. This camera has the WOW factor from many angles.
11-16-2010, 06:13 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
1. Yes. A main one is the image "looks" stabilized with in-lens versions.
2. Galleries exist for each lens. You choose. 12-24 is an excellent range, however.
3. Very likely.
11-16-2010, 06:30 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster