Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2010, 04:47 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Newbie need help with K7 custom settings

I'm new to digital. Used to have a Pentax ME and a bunch of lenses (M Series best I can tell), so I've been looking for a good digital Pentax to use with all my lenses. I just received a new K7 and come to find out, of course, the old lenses are a bit cumbersome to use on it. I have read the previous posts and am trying to make the settings for manual operation. The first obstacle is that I can't find the custom settings menu to change the "using Aperture Ring" setting. The manual seems quite simple: In capture mode (which I take to mean ready to take pictures vice playback) press "menu" and cycle through using the 4-way controller. But when I press the menu button, I can see tabs for rec 1 & 2, playback 1, and settings 1-4 (the wrench), but there is no tab for custom settings like shown in the manual. Any ideas out there??? I would much appreciate it because I have a $1100 paper weight right now!

11-18-2010, 05:07 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I do not have a K7 but I think the wrench is the custom settings menu. On my Kx it is on the last page and is called "Allow use of Aperture Ring" or at least something very close to that. Just read every option in the wrench menu and it will be in there somewhere.
11-18-2010, 05:20 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Singledn.

You are correct in assuming the wrench is the custom menu. You are looking for setting 38 'Using aperture ring'. Set it to "Permitted" to enable use of lenses wit aperture rings. I am amazed that Pentax don't just default to this setting, after all, the use of heritage lenses is a major Pentax selling point.

Good luck with a great camera.

Wayne
11-18-2010, 05:36 PM   #4
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by singledn Quote