Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2010, 11:50 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Baby steps in flash - one photo fine, next black?

Hi guys, this is probably a really dumb question, but I am just starting out with a Sigma SuperDG 500, and I've been experimenting with off-camera flash, and seem to be having some trouble.

So, following the shockingly bad Sigma manual, I set everything up for off-camera flash using my pop-up as controller - so far so good.

I take a few photos at max sync speed (I believe 1/180 for this model), and this is where I get into trouble.

The remote flash is firing in every shot, but some of my shots are black - pitch black (I'm trying to get that black background look), and some of them are exposed correctly - i.e. the flash is lighting my subject up. But I can't figure out what the difference is. The flash is firing every time. Maybe I'm not waiting long enough between charges?

I've played with the two play-able settings on the flash in this configuration, an "f-stop" setting and a flash power setting, both of which move the metres/ft distance meter bar closer (e.g 1 metre) and further away (e.g 7 metres).

It seems like - even though the flash is firing in every shot - it's somehow only showing up in the picture when the slider bar is a metre or two in range of where the flash is actually positioned. But I don't understand why would be the case, at all. Furthermore, I seem unable to adjust the brightness/darkness of the flash by using the on-flash settings. It's always the same brightness, or so close my eyes and the photos are unable to tell the difference. I'm shooting in M, so it's not an issue with on-camera settings.

Is this because my focal length setting _on the flash_ is incorrect or something? How is it that despite the flash firing at the same time the shutter is up, I can only see the flash on certain photos? And how can I stop this happening?