Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2010, 11:02 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Help for a newbie...

*edited* I posted before I finished oops

This is my first post and I'm new to DSLRs, so forgive me, if my questions don't make sense.
I've learned a ton from searching and reading the lens reviews and posts from the members, but I'm still in need of some advice

I've wanted to order my first few "non-kit" lenses and accessories for a few weeks but can't figure out what's next

I own a KX (and LOVE it ) with the following gear:
-18-55 & 50-200 AL kit lenses
- Temba bag
- plenty of memory cards

My questions:
Which lenses and/or gear should I look at next?

I frequently hear that EVERYONE should have a fast 50 (for low light and great IQ)

Most people talk about this one: 20817 Pentax SMCP-FA 50mm f/1.4 Standard Auto Focus Lens

but a rep told me this would be better: 21530 Pentax D-FA 50 f/2.8 Macro Auto Focus Lens

Would you agree, or do most people need something down to the 1.4 range?

What's are the benefits? One says "macro" but can't either of them do that with settings?

I enjoy shooting people mostly, architecture, and sometimes my Doberman at the park. I don't do a ton of landscape, but that may change in the future.
70% of the time I use my 18-55 and most often on the higher end of that lens.
When using the 50-200 (for games & dog pictures at the park) it's on the higher end as well

IQ is very important to me, but of course I'd like to have flexibility without carrying 100 lenses.

In my shopping cart:
1) a 50 or maybe a 40 2.8 limited,
2) AF360Z Flash
3) Tamron 18-200 (or 28-300?) - as a general use lense with great flexibility
4) RemoteF, power 2000 batteries
5) Tripod - Benro

Is any of this "overkill" and what would you add or eliminate from this list (and why) please?
I'm trying to choose wisely,
Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated as I try to navigate through this fun maze.