Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2010, 03:07 AM   #1
Forum Member

Noob/Thrifty Lenses For Gigs @ Small Venues

I just got my K-X this week and so far so good. I have 2 kit lenses that I got with it 18-55 and the 50-200 DAL's I'm not sure how well either of these lenses would do in poorly lit venues that squeezes 200-500 people max that I go to, but judging from the pics they take in regular situations im assuming not so good. I mainly take photos at shows with occasional here and there shooting. I got the Pentax to step my game up and after some research it seemed better than the Nikons/Canons in my price range. I've been using a Kodak Z712IS for a few years, and needless to say the differences are great.

I'm on a very tight budget, at this point I'd describe it a being a cheapskate. After spending $600 on this bad boy I cant afford anything spectacular but I assume anything is better than the old Kodak. Now when i say noob I mean I don't know a thing about SLR's (this is my 1st one.) I sure as heck don't know a thing about lenses or the lingo that goes along with it. Everything is Greek to me right now, but I want to learn the language if you catch my drift.

My price range at this point is max'd at $100. I doubt this will get me anything good and I know the name of the game is SAVE SAVE SAVE for something quality, but right now im just hungry to get out there and learn. I figure if you can successfully shine with sh** , when you get your hands on Brasso, then you'll be able to make things sparkle.

Oh just to add another thing, I'm also interested in Macro photography if you could suggest a cheap lens in this department it would be helpful as well, I was looking at a Sigma 28-80mm Mini Zoom Macro brand new in the box for 30 bucks, figured this might be a good cheap place to start but if they're better options for the same range or slightly more expensive then I can be swayed.