Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2010, 10:18 AM   #1

Which way to go, k-x, k20d, k-7???

I am preparing to purchase my first DSLR and am in a quandary over which way to go. Ive been using a bridge camera, the Panasonic FZ50 for the last 3-4 years, and it has served me well as long as I leave it on 100 ISO! As I have an external flash, Ive been able to manage most indoor situations but clearly Ive reached the point where I would like more options with my photography. In addition to many shots of my young children and family (playing sports, school activities, vacations, etc) I enjoy taking landscape shots, abstracts, and pics of old abandoned structures. The FZ50 spans 35-420mm equivalent, I ran the ExposurePlot program and found that while I took some long telephoto shots, the vast majority were taken near 35mm, with a good number also around 100mm (portraits mostly). The vast majority of my best shots were from around these focal lengths (35mm & 100mm equivalent, guess I need the 21 & 77 ).

Ive had k-x in my head for months, but recently Im thinking about other options. I do understand that its ultimately all about the glass, and Im looking forward to acquiring quality lenses in my needed areas. I recognize that a body upgrade every few years will be needed; however, Im comfortable being a little behind the crest of technology to find that sweet spot of value. Seeing the used k20s and k-7's here have made we wonder if I may be better served by one of them for the next couple of years. Why?

versatility of controls ease of changing settings
weather resistance beach 3-4 times yearly, peace of mind in weather
potential use of external flash sync
grip possibility I have fairly large hands

As I see it, Im sacrificing:
High ISO performance at least a stop improvement? (remember I can really only use ISO100 at this point).
Burst rate
Better AF? - how much are we talking
New factor & warranty