Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-04-2010, 09:43 AM   #1
Inactive Account

k-x w/ Quantaray LD 70-300mm auto apeture issue? help!

Greetings,
I'm new to both this forum and to dslr photography in general I'm hoping you will forgive the noob question but I'm struggling badly with this lens, any insight would be appreciated. issue is:

Bought a refurbished quantaray LD AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 telemacro (shown in 3rd party zoom reviews here). when mounted to my K-x, the lens sent no data to the camera.

Couldn't trigger shutter even when aperture ring was set to A. so I cleaned contacts (didn't help) and set aperture other than A to allowed. Now with the ring set to A the AF operates and data is sent to the body but I cant seem to control the aperture from the camera.

In Manual or Av mode the apeture on the display screen is wide open at f/4 no matter how I adjust it, but (oddly?) the viewfinder displays the change in apeture as I move the thumb wheel. If I take my finger off the trigger for a few seconds the display screen shows the apeture I've selected . but when I half-press the trigger again to set up my shot it reverts back to F/4 on screen (but not in the viewfinder).

In livewiew the apeture reads blank F __ (this is still with the ring set to A and the apeture in the viewfinder set to f/22).

All my test shots exif data show f/4 no matter what I set the apeture to, and show a blank for lens type (q-ray is a re-badged tamron no?)

So, Is this a "noob" thing? a "3rd party lens compatibility" thing (im up a creek)? or a "I should send back to the refurbisher for repair" thing?

bought this as a learning lens for wildlife photos and also some nature macro. I can always learn to shoot with manual apeture or shoot stuck wide open, however I picked this lens over other crisper manual telephotos because of auto apeture flexability (that im currently not getting) that, and I got it for a song...