Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2010, 02:09 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
newbie with istD and 35mm lens looking for help

Camera is Pentax istD. I have four lenses from a Pentax K1000 camera that I have had for years. I do not mind the manual focus lenses but I can not seem to get a picture that in good focus.

I have used the istD feature that tells you when you are in focus but my pictures are still not focused. Lighting does not appear to be an issue.

Questions
1. Does the aperture setting affect focus?
2. The lenses that I have are old and probably cheap, can having the lens cleaned by professionals make night and day difference?

I think the settings in the camera are good but I am a newbie working on my own

thanks for any input

12-05-2010, 02:14 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The aperture affects depth of field. The larger the aperture number, the larger the depth of field, but the less light is passed through your lens.

Essentially it's optimal to stay in the F5.6 to F8 range for most lenses.

Cleaning usually doesn't do much, as dust and minor things can't really be seen. However, cleaning the front element with lens tissue is recommended.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

12-05-2010, 02:20 PM   #3
Pentaxian

You may wish to check the eye peice diopter for optimum setting. This will help focus. Also why not post a sample pix
12-05-2010, 02:30 PM   #4
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by double d Quote