Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2010, 01:09 AM   #1

Absolute Beginner Needs Help With Necessities. I am about to buy a Kx. :) Thanks.

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi Guys,

I am buying myself a christmas present of a Kx this year. I am moving up from a Panasonic Lumix TZ10 (which I will keep as my p&s). I am willing to learn and take in all I can but regardless of this I am a 110% complete novice with a DSLR. I may have taken one or two photos with one but that is the extent of my experience.

Please let me also state that I am a self-employed artist so my budget is tight, I have saved for the camera & have a little left over for other items. This is the reason for my post. I would love if you could please suggest items that you consider to be necessary for my progression into the DSLR world.

I have had a some people ask what I would like for Christmas this year & have offered to buy me things to coincide with me buying my camera. I will be buying a kit w/ an 18-55 lens & have already been suggested a "fast fifty" lens for the type of shooting that I want to do which I think I can pick up pretty cheap. Other than this I would love suggestions on other lenses, filters, hoods, tripods, bags etc. (I think I have a bag picked already but welcome suggestions)

Other than what I have studied already I have no idea about lenses and other terminology
i.e. aperture, shutter speed, and ISO etc so please be gentle.