Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2010, 10:43 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
problem with m 50mm 1.7 lens

Hi all,
I'm new to the site as well as dslr photography. Actually any photography. I recently bought a pentax kx, and some older manual lenses. My question is , my m 50mm 1.7 lens doesn't allow the camera to work correctly when it is all the way in. In other words, when I can hear the click while putting the lens on. The shutter seems to get stuck. I can use it without clicking it in all the way, but the pictures don't seem as sharp as my other manual lens, 28mm 2.8. I've got the camera set up to accept manual lenses, and the green button set up to step down the aperture. Does anyone know if this means the lens is broken? Like I said, I'm new to all of this so if there is an explanation, please dumb it down for me
Thanks

12-10-2010, 12:24 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Hi,

I am sorry, I don't have an answer. I am a beginner too, and when I use A 1.7, the camera doesn't recognize it. The shutter info is blank, the aperture (F) info is 3 hyphens. When you press the capture button, the camera doesn't fire at all, so no photo is captured.
12-10-2010, 12:46 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Let's see if we can take this apart phrase by phrase.
QuoteOriginally posted by tlmathena Quote
Hi all,
I'm new to the site as well as dslr photography. Actually any photography. I recently bought a pentax kx, and some older manual lenses. My question is , my m 50mm 1.7 lens doesn't allow the camera to work correctly when it is all the way in.
I assume by all the way in, you mean mounted on the body, with the red diamond for the focusing distance indicator on the lens pointing up, and the white button the lens at about 45 degrees
QuoteQuote:
In other words, when I can hear the click while putting the lens on.