Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-13-2010, 03:25 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Noob

Hi all...I am new to the land of DSLRs. I am beginning with a Kx...go figure. I am wondering wht when I shoot in RAW...when I open my photos in PSP they are blueish. They preview fine...but open as blue?

12-13-2010, 03:35 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome here. The K-x will do you well. RAW will give you more latitude to edit your images to your liking with less detail loss in highlights and shadows. Blue-looking landscapes usually occur due to a slight misappropriation of white balance, easily fixed in RAW editors, but also in your favourite image editing programme.
12-13-2010, 04:24 PM   #3

I sometimes gets a blueish tint in Manual Mode when using a flash (external) at low speeds, approx: 1/10 to 1/30
and also if strong LED lights are present in the frame. Just a couple of situations you can look out for.

Michel
12-13-2010, 04:39 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Take a look at your white balance setting. It's true that WB can be changed with RAW files but I find it useful to actually set the correct WB for the conditions. It makes it easier to evaluate the photograph. At least for a noob like me. Hope you like your K-x as much as I do.
Kent

12-13-2010, 07:19 PM   #5
Pentaxian

I don't know PSP, but there may be a way to set the default white balance to "As shot", versus, say, "daylight".
12-13-2010, 07:44 PM   #6

In PSP (that's Paint Shop Pro you are referring too right?)
there's an adjustment that will make your pic look 'blueish' if not set right.

Open a pic,
clic on 'Effects'
in that menu go to 'Enhance Photo'
and then 'Automatic Color Balance'

there's a 'slide adjustment' for temperature ranging from
2500K (warm/orange tint) to 9300K (cool/blue tint)
you should have yours set to 6500K (Sunlight) as a starting point.

PSP should'nt re-adjust the temp just viewing your pics