Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2010, 07:06 PM   #1

Pentax A lenses on k-x

I just purchased a new K-x, am rather new to photography so I'm just beginning to learn how complex choosing a lens can be for the inexperienced. I would like opinions as to which of the older Pentax "A" lenses give a good result for indoor, group pictures. I'm thinking one of the prime lenses but I'm open to the voice of experience.

12-14-2010, 07:11 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ldmlkn Quote
I just purchased a new K-x, am rather new to photography so I'm just beginning to learn how complex choosing a lens can be for the inexperienced. I would like opinions as to which of the older Pentax "A" lenses give a good result for indoor, group pictures. I'm thinking one of the prime lenses but I'm open to the voice of experience.
Welcome aboard. I bought my K-x in September and am really enjoying learning a lot here. Well, you have three criteria I think in what you are asking for:
1 - good in lower light (indoor)
2 - wider angle (group and indoors)
3 - Pentax A lens

For wider angle on the older lenses you will want something like a 28mm and the f2.8 is fairly common. You can see the reviews of it here - SMC Pentax-A 28mm F2.8 Lens Reviews - Pentax Lens Reviews & Pentax Lens Database

Not terrible on price, wide enough and fast enough for a lot of what you're asking about, and generally positive reviews.
12-14-2010, 07:21 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Depending on your conditions (how bright is the light, etc) you may want to increase the lens to a 50mm 1.4-1.7 if you can. While it's not a huge step, if shooting conditions are dark you'll need every bit you can get. I'm not extremely familiar with the Kx (I'm a K-10 guy), but if you can compensate by increasing your ISO, then my point may be moot.