Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2010, 10:45 PM   #1
Inactive Account

a couple of questions

I am a student, still learning the art of photography and wanting to enter into the photojournalism field once done with school. Until now, I have been using the equipment that I can check out from the school, a Rebel XS, but want to buy my own camera. I am really looking at a K-7 with the 18-55mm kit, along with a 50mm f1.4 lens for video, as I am also very interested in shooting video.

That said, my questions are:

1) is this a good set up for me, given experience (little), should I go with the K-r instead?

2) is there a compatibility problem with the SMCP-M 50mm lenses and dSLR cameras

3) would I be able to plug the camera up to a computer, without a card reader, Mac with photoshop like I did with the school rented equipment?

4) what other information should I be considering?

If somebody has already posted this question and I failed to see it, then sorry, and could you point me in the right direction?

12-15-2010, 12:18 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would ask your instructor(s) whether they have any issue with you using a non canon product. This is because they may not be willing or able to assist you in terms of translating canon speak to pentax speak, i.e. translating control function names and controls.

While it is a stupid point, there have been other posters who have complained that course instructors are a little narrow minded in this respect.

This is not to put you off pentax of course, but you need to make sure your school and instructors are willing to accept other camera makes within the classes.

As to other questions
1) what camera, that is a tough question. They are both good, Personally I like the K7 (I have one) but the higher ISO capabilities of the K-r may be of interest. NOte that this will definitely NOT be the last camera you get.