Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-23-2010, 01:39 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Any one with experience with Tele-Converters?

Hello...

I am new to DSLR world and I have a Kx with a Tarmon 18-200mm and a 70mm-300mm lens. I am looking for a Tele-Converter to enhance the range of these lens. I have searched the forms and didn't come up with the answers I am looking for. I hope someone can share some experiences or answers with me.

Have any one used any one of these companies for a Tele-Converter, Pro-Optic 2XPX or Bower MC7 or MC4?

Does the number of elements means better picture? 4 Elements vs 7 Elements?

If paired with the config I have now a K-x with Tamron 18-200mm or Tamron f4 -5.6 70-300 lens would the AF still work?

Thanks any help would be great.

12-23-2010, 01:59 PM   #2
Veteran Member

7 elements 2X TC should perform better in theory, but the actual quality varies. However, it won't be practical with 200-300mm f5.6 lens which is not sharp to start with. AF won't work and the viewfinder will be very dim. You don't get something for nothing I am afraid.
12-23-2010, 04:08 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Most comments I have read say the 7 element TC's are better than the 4 element.

Not all TC's are the same by any means. Many do not pass through the lens information or have the pass through for auto-focus.

Here is one that says it does auto-focus but I would be very careful.

Loss of light is always going to be a problem as well as the loss of some sharpness. Sometimes getting any picture is better than not so the sharpness issue can be OK in some situations. The light loss, maybe 2 stops, depending on the converter might be a deal breaker for your lens combination. Those are not really fast to start with. But if you are working in bright sunlight it might not be too bad.