Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2010, 05:27 PM   #1

What's the point of a 1:1.7 50mm lens? (AKA I'm a noob)

Very new to photography. I've always wanted a nice camera and now that I'm working I went in with my parents and bought a K-x. My dad has an old ME with the 1:1.7 50mm lens. Is there any advantage to that vs the normal 18-55 lens that comes with teh K-x?

12-24-2010, 05:35 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Advantages:
+ Better image quality
+ Larger max. aperture (f/1.7) which can be used to achieve a more shallow depth of field and also allows hand held photography in less light.

Disadvantages:
- Not a zoom - you're stuck with the 50mm focal length
- Being an M lens it can only practically be used in Manual exposure mode om a DSLR (on your Dad's ME it can be used in auto exposure mode (Av))
- Manual focus (no auto focus)
12-24-2010, 05:42 PM   #3

Original Poster
So its a decent lens? Be nice to throw in another lens with the kit 18-55 and 55-200. Are the ymostly used for portraits?
12-24-2010, 06:24 PM   #4
Veteran Member

50mm f/1.7 is nice, lens kit is shit... ok maybe not that bad but eventually you'll buy something faster.

the post above you sum it up, what you have on your hand is a full manual lens, you can only shoot in manual mode or AV mode wide open (which does make things a little easier on you).

the so call portrait range is around 105mm (not really but it's an old wifes tale). 50mm in 1.5 crop factor is around 75mm (which is close to 105)... and that's why people like it, further more, it's widely common and the cheapest lens to get a large aperture, if you check out any company's lens lineup you'll notice as you move away from 50mm in either direction, it gets real expensive for fast lens.

AKA, a 50mm f/1.7 costs 50 bucks
a 28mm f/2.8 costs 120
a 100mm f/4 costs a wooping 180

to get that f/1.7 the costs multiply for other FL, so stick with 50mm.