Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-31-2010, 12:42 PM   #1

How good is metering and WB in KX?

Hello,
How good is the metering and the auto white balance in the KX? I'm thinking of buying one but the DP review lists this as not a strength. Since I am a beginner this is important to me. Is highlight clipping a problem? My alternative is to spend more and get a Canon T2i. Thank you for your comments and advice.

12-31-2010, 12:56 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Well, compared to the K20D, I've found the K-x to have much better AWB in artificial lighting. I can set it on AWB and it just works.

Metering is also fairly accurate with the K-x, but I believe as with all Pentax cameras, there is a tendency to underexpose a bit to reduce the chance of clipping highlights. However, if you shoot with some knowledge of the Zone system, you can avoid most cases of the camera underexposing. So I wouldn't worry about it.
12-31-2010, 08:47 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
From personal experience (only with the Kx) I find the WB to be very good. Most of the time I only change the WB a tiny bit in PP and that is because I am very particular about those kinds of things. If you were to do no PP the WB would still be very good (with the occasional mishap).

I find that I normally shoot at or around +0.3. I agree with the previous poster that Pentax does tend to under-expose a bit. It doesn't bother me though. I don't even think about it anymore, my natural reaction is to shoot when I see the meter go just above the even.
01-01-2011, 12:34 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by RayJayR Quote
Hello,