Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2011, 12:35 PM   #1
Forum Member

Macro+flash and shake reduction question

Hello,

I'm still fairly new to photography, so I was wondering...

When using a macro lens with an macro flash (Sigma EX 105mm + Sigma EM 140 flash on a Kx, in my case), is the shake reduction feature gonna be of any benefit or is it completely unnesseary seeing as shutterspeeds are around 1/60 to 1/180 sec anyway?

Mikael

01-05-2011, 12:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If you're using a tripod, turn SR off.

If not, the rule of 1/focal length shutter speed being hand-holdable is somewhat less accurate at macro focal lengths. Best bet is to take a shot or two with and without and see what you can personally keep stable.
01-05-2011, 01:05 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
As the previous poster stated, if on a tripod turn off SR but I find when shooting macro at 100mm SR helps me. I have done shots with SR on and off and for the most part the SR off is a bit blurry and SR produces better results but like most things photography, the best way is trial and error. You might find that your hands are very steady and you don't need SR.
01-05-2011, 01:16 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
I did forget to mention my question was related to handheld shooting, but you answered that too
I was just a bit unsure wether or not a fast shutter speed would be enough to cancel out SR.

My experience is, my hands are not very strong for holding a camera steady, so I think SR will indeed be beneficial to me then. So that's great news.

Thanks for your replies!

01-05-2011, 02:16 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums