Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
01-11-2011, 12:19 AM - 1 Like   #1
Inactive Account

Photography for Dummies

Newbie here, Is there a particular website where I can read and learn the terminology and possibly where I might could learn a little about digital photography so I can learn the questions I need to ask.
First camera besides a point and shoot and know absolutely nothing. Have the K-r 12 D-SLR and I am certainly lost.
Help !!!
Thank you all, Brianjo

01-11-2011, 12:37 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
To be honest, I don't know about websites for the terminology. I also am not sure what you're battling with? The camera or photography in general.

For photography
Understanding-Exposure (luminous-landscape.com) or Camera Exposure: Aperture, ISO & Shutter Speed (cambridgeincolour.com) would be one of the first stops I think when it comes to understanding exposure
01-11-2011, 01:38 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Even in South Alabama, some communities house institutions called Public Libraries, which are often filled with books made of actual paper. Some of those books will deal with photography, and will tell you much about how cameras work. Browse those books, borrow whatever looks useful, and you'll learn all about the terminology, technology, techniques, etc. An extra bonus: these books do not require batteries nor power supplies, and can be read in places where computers are not allowed or are not feasible. Have fun!
01-11-2011, 03:13 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Well, DSLR's are only upgraded point-and-shoots - basically by principle of function they're the same.. They capture pictures It's just that they have more features- the lens being interchangeable, primarily.

You can also try out this link, this is where I learned:
Learn: Digital Photography Review