Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2011, 04:44 PM   #1

When is the best time to buy a lens?

I am new to photography and of course have my eye on a couple of used lenses to upgrade beyond the kit lens (18-55). I am wondering if there is a particular time of year when used lenses can be found at a discount. Kind of like waiting until winter to buy a motorcycle when demand is low.

Also, just wanted to say that this site is a great resource. Thanks to all who contribute time and wisdom to the rest of us.

01-11-2011, 04:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Let everyone else buy first, then when they find out that it is not what they wanted, they will put it for sale cheaper. In case of new models, wait a year, when everyone buys it. The price will fall by itself. Never buy before Christmas either.
01-11-2011, 05:00 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Pepe Guitarra Quote
Let everyone else buy first, then when they find out that it is not what they wanted, they will put it for sale cheaper. In case of new models, wait a year, when everyone buys it. The price will fall by itself. Never buy before Christmas either.
The marketplace does not seem to work like that - at least for "good" lenses. For instance, even if you find that you don't like your DA 15mm Limited, you still don't sell it short.

I agree that for new lenses it makes sense to wait - if you don't need the lens right now. The DA 100mm macro WR initially stayed at $850 for few months at all retailers, and then went down to $610-620.
01-11-2011, 05:08 PM   #4
Ira
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by Kammerer Quote
The marketplace does not seem to work like that - at least for "good" lenses. For instance, even if you find that you don't like your DA 15mm Limited, you still don't sell it short.