Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-16-2011, 12:34 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Total flash newbie... which one to get?

I shoot a K7 at the moment, but perhaps a K5 soon... I've never had anything more than the on camera flash. i would like to get an off camera flash for indoors and parties...

There are many options.. it seems the metz 58 Af2 is the 'best' or newest.. but i likely don't need all that...

What should i get?

01-16-2011, 02:35 PM   #2
Kai

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have been using Metz 48 with k-7 and pretty happy with it. A bit heavy though. May wanna check the newest metz44.
01-16-2011, 02:50 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I'm also rather new to flashes. I had a Metz 36 for my pentax and it was a decent flash for the money. The 58 is one of the newest flashes around and it does have alot of functions. That flash was stolen and now I have a Pentax af 280t and a Nikon SB-28 for flashes. They are both manual but can be had for cheaper than a new flash. One feature that you will want is the swivel head. It comes in very handy. It allows you to angle the light and bounce it off a wall or the ceiling and allows you to be more creative. I hope that helps :-)

If you want to go with a new flash that can do P-TTL metering, then you can get a metz 50 or the 58, or from Pentax, the af 540fgz. I would skip on the af 360 as the head only tilts but doesn't swivel.

As for an older flash to try and even keep for the long run, I can highly recommend the Pentax af 280t, that has good power output and a tilt and bounce head. The Nikon sb-28 or the sb-26 is good as well with bounce and tilt heads.

I hope that helps! Good luck and have fun! Flash really does add alot to photography!
01-16-2011, 03:45 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery