Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2011, 10:37 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
SMC-A 50mm f/1.7 with Internal Reflections in Back-lit Conditions?

Hi all,

I hope that I've found the right location for this question - I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I'm relatively new to Pentax/DSLR's (shot with a film Nikon FE and a Minolta Maxxum when in school).

I recently purchased a used SMC-A 50mm f/1.7. Things looked pretty good - very clean, sharp images, etc. However, I've since found that high contrast back-lit scenes give the K-x body and 50mm lens a fit.

I've attached an example image. In the upper left there are blinds with bright back-lighting coming through. In the lower right there is a ghost of the light and blinds circularly symmetric to the original.

Things I've looked into:

1) Lens seems clean - nothing noticeable on either front or back elements, not much dust internally.
2) Included UV filter has no impact - ghosting/reflection is there whether the filter is on or off.
3) "Hand hood" doesn't change anything - perhaps an actual hood (rectangular or circular) would?

Does anyone have thoughts on this? Is this a normal experience for heavily back-lit images on this lens or with back-lit images in general?

Many thanks for any thoughts that could shed some light on this situation,
Josh

The specifics of the image:
Taken on Pentax K-x
No flash
SMC-A 50mm f/1.7 lens
1/125 second exposure
f/2.8 aperture
Automatic white balance
ISO 800
Firmware ver 1.01

Attached Images

01-17-2011, 11:35 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery