Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2011, 04:18 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
How to take action dart shots in a dim bar?

Forgive me.. I am crossposting this from another forum on another site - so if you frequent both - my bad...

So I play darts in some of the local pubs.. I'd like to get some nice freeze frame moody action shot of people throwing darts...

I envision only the subject and his dart frozen in time... As little as else lit or in focus...

I'm armed with a K5, 18-135 lens, and a Metz 50 af-1 flash...

Enlighten me pretty please... emoticon - smile

Other suggestions for shots are welcome.

I'm a total flash noob...

I can operate it, but that's about it...

Thanks!!

Javaslinger

01-19-2011, 04:33 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Leave the flash at home and aim for a slight overexposure by boosting ISO. You can easily go to 5000 with a single 40-60w light bulb and still leave enough detail to pull a good shot out of it.

Not a dim bar but an example none-the-less. (ISO5000)

Taken at a lower ISO 1600 lit by a few strings of christmas lights.

You will be surprised at how well the K5 does in these conditions.

01-19-2011, 05:14 PM   #3
Pentaxian

The above pictures are still life and not as demanding on shutter speed as the you may need for those darts shots. You can always try both methods and find out.