Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-20-2011, 06:02 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Telling what firmware you have

I just recently got a new K-7 and was wondering how I tell what firmware version it has. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

01-20-2011, 06:13 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hold down the menu button as you switch your camera on.
You'll see it displayed on the rear LCD.
01-20-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thank you very much! I'm new to updating firmware so I have a couple questions. When I did what you said the camera said I have version 1.00. If I want to update this, do I download just the latest version or do I have to download the earlier versions as well. Thanks!

Last edited by jswillems; 01-20-2011 at 07:12 PM.
01-20-2011, 07:12 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Aw, you beat me to it Ash...

01-20-2011, 08:07 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by jswillems Quote
Thank you very much! I'm new to updating firmware so I have a couple questions. When I did what you said the camera said I have version 1.00. If I want to update this, do I download just the latest version or do I have to download the earlier versions as well. Thanks!

No, you do not need to download and install intermediate versions. The firmware updates are cumulative. That is, each release contains all the changes in prior releases. Just install the latest version.

Read the instructions that accompany the update, carefully. It really is not difficult, but there are a couple of "gotchas" that can trip you up, if you've never done a firmware update before.