Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2011, 03:54 AM   #1

Which DSLR to buy for these 35mm lenses?

Morning ladies and gents,

I've been doing a bit of research online because I'd like to find the most suitable Pentax DSLR to go with these lenses. My Uncle was an avid photographer and left me these when he passed away. I'm no stranger to photography (I shoot video for a living) but I'd like to get a DSLR that I can use his old lenses on. Can anyone help me please?

Not the best pictures I'm afraid (taken on my phone a while ago just for reference) but I can get better pics if this will help?

I was considering the K-x because the cheaper the better. What are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
Matt

02-01-2011, 04:30 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the forum!

The k-x would be an excellent choice IMO. Add an M42 adapter and you are in business (genuine Pentax highly recommended, the $20 saved with a knock-off is not worth the potential hassle, also using Sanyo Eneloops for batteries is an inexpensive way to avoid uncessary trouble . Don't let the price fool you, the k-x is a very capable camera even in absolute terms, assuming the Eneloops (or lithium AAs) "it just works" too .
02-01-2011, 04:46 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Can't help but feel you're coming at this from the wrong direction!

Buy a DSLR for it's own sake (and your photography). The latest Pentax models are great and will all work with your lenses. For that matter any Pentax dslr will work with your lenses (using the adapter).

The risk with '..the cheaper the better' is you could be disappointed and won't get the best from the camera and/or the lenses. In any event even a cheap Pentax dslr will cost more than the lenses are worth

That said, your money!

Last edited by JohnX; 02-01-2011 at 05:21 AM.
02-01-2011, 05:31 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum!