Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-03-2011, 12:12 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K20D used, or K-7 new?

I'm new to digital photography so the comparison charts are still a foreign language to me. I'd like a camera that I can use for quite a while without feeling like I need to upgrade. From what I can see, it looks like a new K-7 is selling for roughly $300-400 more than a used K20D. I don't have an immediate need for lens as I have quite a few old lens I'd like to experiment with for awhile. I just cannot decipher if the K-7 is worth $300-400 more than the K20D. (I'm not prepared to spend as much as the K-5) One nice point in favor of a new camera is several places are offering a 2 year additional Pentax warranty for 10.00-20.00. Most extended warranties are way over priced (IMO) but that is cheap enough, I'd buy some 'peace of mind'.

I don't care about video as I do have a video camera now. Anyone have any thoughts on this issue?

02-03-2011, 01:17 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Do a comparison between the two cameras using the forum's camera review comparison page accessed from the Cameras tab above. It basically comes down to video capabilities (and using the lenses you put on the camera makes all the difference, but it will be manual focusing for video) and a few extra features that the K20D doesn't have like HDR processing and lens corrections. The ergonomics and user interface between the two are also different - you may as well have a feel for the two cameras to see which one 'feels' better for you.
02-03-2011, 01:34 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

I would go definitely for a new camera to benefit from the warranty. It cannot be stated enough the peace of mind of the warranty.
02-03-2011, 02:12 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery