Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2006, 05:11 PM   #1

Dumb newbie color question

I love my K100D. No fight at all to get shots I like with little to no effort. I enjoy getting the shot far more than spending a ton of time post processing. Well, I don't have the time. This is a dream cam for me.

However, I'm perturbed by how it treats the color red. You will be able to tell I'm just a happy consumer hobbyist when I state that I do not want to give up my bright mode for natural. I don't see all that well & I like deeply saturated color. Is there some other adjustment I can make in the menu system to tone down the red? I'm afraid if I jerk the saturation down a notch, it'll effect every other color.

This is do-nothing shot, but would you mind looking at the red? Is it just me or does it seem that the red gets even more garish as your eyes travel left to right??

Thanks in advance.

12-09-2006, 05:34 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Izzy,

Everything is too saturated here, not just the reds. Have you even tried the natural setting? Otherwise the reds can easily be toned down in PP (Elements, etc.).

Dan
12-09-2006, 05:59 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Natural for me

I think it is way oversaturated. Give natural a try. If you want to get the best and just what you want, you should use RAW and process them. Takes more time, but it is almost always well worth it.
12-09-2006, 06:04 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks Dan,

Everything isn't "too saturated" if your vision is rather poor. I did actually try the natural setting on one shoot, and didn't care for it. I had to use software to pop it back. It really doesn't bother me if this need to see deep color always keeps me in the "bad photog" category. It's just what I need to see. to be happy with what I shoot. Make any sense at all??