Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-08-2011, 07:07 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Hello Everybody!

Hi there,
My name is Austen. I am new to SLR's and I just bought the Pentax K-X. I have a couple of questions.
1. Will older pentax lenses work on new pentax cameras?

2. Will lenses that were made for a (pentax) 35mm camera work on a digital (pentax) camera?

I have to keep my new hobby on a budget and I saw that there are hundreds of old pentax 35mm cameras with multiple lenses on ebay. I am trying to get two more lenses one specific for long range wildlife and one for macro.

Thank you to all and any that respond!

Sincerely,
Austen

02-08-2011, 07:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum Austen
in answer to both questions yes any pentax lens ever made will work with the kx. for any lens that predates Auto Aperture (the A setting) you will only be able to use in full manual mode (metering achieved by pressing the Green button) or Av mode if shooting wide open
If you want to get a feel for the lenses have a look here

Pentax Reviews - Pentax Lens Reviews & Pentax Lens Database

Edit

You might also check the marketplace here for lenses for example
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photographic-equipment-sale/132185-sale-p...f-sale-us.html
02-08-2011, 07:21 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks very much!
02-08-2011, 09:39 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

Yep... Old lenses will work and you seem well on the way to a severe case of LBA already :-)

02-08-2011, 11:10 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Besides the M, A, FA etc... lenses there are some that you will see called M42. Those will also fit on your Kx but with an adapter and will also be fully manual (like an M series).