Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-08-2011, 01:32 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
All shots taken of snow are too dark

I am new to the DSLR world. I have the K-X kit with both lenses. No matter which lens I use, with the settings set to auto, or snow, every shot comes out dark. It does not matter if it is sunny or cloudy. I am not using any filters. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Last edited by specbil98; 02-08-2011 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Added experience level
02-08-2011, 01:35 PM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Oy.

When you shoot snow, it will always underexpose. Set your camera +3 ev compensation to start.
02-08-2011, 01:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Someone has answered the questions, but I would recommend this book as you may have exposure issues in other settings too, unless you have a basic undestanding of how exposure works:

Amazon.com: Understanding Exposure, 3rd Edition: How to Shoot Great Photographs with Any Camera (9780817439392): Bryan Peterson: Books
02-08-2011, 01:45 PM   #4
Pentaxian

The camera meter wants to make everything gray. White, black or chartreuse - it doesn't matter. The camera wants to make it a medium tone.

This is where you have to look at your scene and say "That looks a bit light overall" (bridal dress, snow...) or "that looks a bit dark" (black dog close up) and make your exposure compensation (EC) accordingly. If it is bright, you need to overexpose the meter. If it is dark, you need to underexpose the meter.

Clear blue sky (no clouds) facing away from the sun, 10AM-2PM is the correct exposure (close enough). Palm of you hand and open 1 stop works too - most palms are the close enough regardless of skin color.

02-08-2011, 01:46 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I have checked my manual, and I am a complete dummy right now, PLEASE!! how do you change that. Thanks
02-08-2011, 01:47 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter