Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-08-2011, 05:24 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Snow boarding this weekend!!!!!!!!

Hello,

I do not have time to figure this out by Sat. thought I would ask advice. On Sat. my town is having a snow boarding event. It goes from 3pm-8pm. So I will have both day and night shots. Any advice on what settings to shot at in the daylight, than at night? I imagine I should use my 55-300 lens?

I am very new to this try not to get very technical. Thanks very much to anyone that can help.

02-08-2011, 06:54 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by PentaxKX-2011 Quote
Hello,

I do not have time to figure this out by Sat. thought I would ask advice. On Sat. my town is having a snow boarding event. It goes from 3pm-8pm. So I will have both day and night shots. Any advice on what settings to shot at in the daylight, than at night? I imagine I should use my 55-300 lens?

I am very new to this try not to get very technical. Thanks very much to anyone that can help.
The 55-300 lens will be good for the daylight shots. As far as settings go that's going to vary with the weather. Just experiment a little. I would recommend shooting raw anytime in snow, it's easy to have exposure problems with snow and you have a chance to fix them with raw.

The night shots have more variables including your camera and how the lights are at the event. Chance are the 55-300 may not cut it. You may need a faster lens, even if you have to go much shorter.