Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-09-2011, 01:41 PM   #1

Learning my K200d

I am still learning my Pentax. I have had it for over a year now. I was wondering whether to shoot in raw or just jpeg. Also what software does everybody use to process raw and are there some tips on how to use it efficiently. And I am just looking for some tips and hints to better use my K200d.

Thanks

02-09-2011, 01:56 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I am an amateur, and a K200D user, and went thru this decision process about a year ago.

I shoot in RAW (DNG) and process in Adobe Photoshop Elements 8. I find that I'm able to boost shadow detail with much less noise, and generally have more latitude over correcting both exposure and white balance after the fact. I can certainly do a better job of salvaging an image in RAW than in JPG.

That being said, two things I wish I had spent time on sooner:

1. Custom White Balance. It is really easy to do, and ensures much more accurate tones than the auto or preset modes.

2. Custom Image Settings. I have settled on the 'Natural' setting with contrast -3 and sharpness -1. A lot of the highlight and shadow detail was being thrown away by the camera during the jpg conversion due to the contrast setting, and sharpness can always be boosted after the fact. Making those changes, I can usually get about the same image as if I'd shot RAW, provided exposure and white balance were correct.

RAW conversion is another learning curve, and took me a while to sort out. Pictures got worse before they got better, as they really do require work in RAW to be ready for display.

Hope that helps! Feel free to ask specific questions, lots of folks here will help.
02-09-2011, 02:14 PM   #3

Original Poster