Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-11-2011, 02:14 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
lenses for K-x

Hi there,

I'd just like some information about specifically what lenses can be used for a K-x. Is there a database out there somewhere? I have read that any k mount lens will fit, but are there other mounts that will also fit? I am a newbie and I don't know the first thing to look for when considering purchasing other lenses for my camera. I do know a little (such as the f value) because I am searching for a good prime lens at the moment. Any help is more than welcome.

02-11-2011, 02:19 AM   #2
arv
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Check here.
To go for other mounts you will need adapter, the best would be Pentax M42 to K Adapter for old M42 screw lenses. Secondhand 50mm prime is one of the cheapest options to start. I would start with K mount.

Regards,
A.

Last edited by arv; 02-11-2011 at 02:56 AM.
02-11-2011, 02:48 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
Thanks, that is quite helpful. I am also wondering about something that would include third party manufacturers' lens compatibility and not exclusively Pentax.
02-11-2011, 03:06 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
you can use any lense of other manufacturer, all you need is the lense to be on "K mount"*.

Sigma, Tamron, etc ... do some lenses for Pentax mount, but also for Canon or Nikon, for exemple. But every time, they mentionned for wich brand or mount its made for.

*when it's written "mount K M", "mount K A", "mount K AF"," mount k AF˛", "mount K AF3", it's also fully compatible with your K-x. they just mean, that their are some few option linked to the mount (A for aperture controlle by the body, K AF means motorized.)

02-11-2011, 03:44 AM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lens compatibility is one of the great things about Pentax and much better than most other brands!