Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-14-2011, 09:35 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Center focus

I'm actually a somewhat experienced photographer, but I'm having a fairly basic problem with my K-7:
I like to center focus, press the shutter release halfway, and then reframe. The problem is that my K-7 will refocus on an object at the center of my new framing.
I set the focus knob at the front of the camera to C, and the AF switch to the picture of the box with the dot in the middle.
Have I set these incorrectly, or is the problem somewhere else?

02-14-2011, 09:41 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Set your camera to AF-S (Single). AF-C is Continuous Auto Focus.

02-14-2011, 11:20 PM   #3

yeah c stands for continuous, so you want af-s (sorry, already answered I guess).
02-18-2011, 12:08 AM   #4

I am not sure how similar the K-7 is to the K-R, but I had this exact same problem and all I needed to do was hold down the AF/AE-L button during the re-framing process to ensure the focus remained on the original subject. I was using AF-A (auto), so I am not sure if just switching to AF-S would have solved the problem (I think I tried that and it didn't, but I am not 100% sure).

Obviously, YMMV since you have a slightly different camera!

02-18-2011, 01:46 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by leheath8 Quote
I am not sure how similar the K-7 is to the K-R, but I had this exact same problem and all I needed to do was hold down the AF/AE-L button during the re-framing process to ensure the focus remained on the original subject. I was using AF-A (auto), so I am not sure if just switching to AF-S would have solved the problem (I think I tried that and it didn't, but I am not 100% sure).

Obviously, YMMV since you have a slightly different camera!