Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-14-2011, 11:07 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Precautions in buying k7+Neewer battery grip

Hi all,

I am new to the pentax forum, have been following it for a while now, it seems like a very close nit and friendly community! I am a student, and have been interested in photography for a while now, been playing around with my dad's p30 with a few manual lenses.
Now, i'm making the move to a k7! I found it posted locally on craigslist from a gentleman, and the price is 600 for a k7 with 6000 accuration, seems like a fair price to me, other wise the body is in excellent condition.
I will be picking up the camera in 2 days, and is there any precautions i should take a note of? how should i test out the camera? given that i only have a few manual lenses..or things i should take extra notice of? the seller seems legit, reason for selling is switching to Canon...but i wanted to shoot this question out to you experienced pentaxians to see your feedbacks.

Now, for my second question (crossing my fingers that the k7 is ok). I was looking into purchasing the neewer battery grip for k7, has anyone had experience with it? I found it through amazon.ca cost is 79.99, and in the description it says weather resistant....seemed to me highly unlikely for 80 bucks...has anyone used this? would you recommend any other 3rd party grip?

Thanks for reading through my bambling post! this is actually my first post, and i hope to post more and share my photos in the future!

Nick

02-15-2011, 12:18 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Seems like a fair deal to me. I'd just check the sensor for hot pixels, etc.

As far as grips go, the generic ones aren't weather-sealed, so chances are the one you're looking at isn't unless it's an amazing deal on a used Pentax grip!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)