Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2011, 05:19 PM   #1

Pentax k-x EV bar question

Hi, I'm really new to using the k-x and DSLR

i just received it yesterday and love shooting pictures... but my problem is that right now when i change the shutter speed to a say "1/25" - the EV slides to -3 and when i go to like "0.4" or higher, it'll slide to +3.

This only happens in M mode. I haven't changed anything and read the manual, which didn't help much. I even searched through the forums for some help.

Can someone please help, because all the pictures are coming out funky.

Thank you in advance.

02-15-2011, 05:46 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I hope I'm understanding your question.

When in M mode, the ev bar is your meter readout. You want to get it to be a zero for a 'correct' exposure.

If you like, you can change the aperture (instead of the shutter speed) by holding down the +/- button and turning the wheel at the back.
02-16-2011, 12:00 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I suggest doing a lot of research on-line about exposure. The EV meter is telling you when the exposure is too bright, good and too dark. So for example when you were at 1/25 that was not a slow enough speed to let in enough light for the photo to be properly exposed and your photo turned out dark. When you move it to .4sec the shutter was open too long let too much light in and therefore the photo was too bright. That means that somewhere between 1/25 and .4sec was the correct exposure.

**Now having said that there are other factors that control the exposure of your photo, ISO and aperture. There is just way to much to explain to you on how to get a proper exposure but a good way to start is to put the camera into Auto mode, focus on various things in various lighting conditions and pay close attention to what happens to the shutter speed and aperture. Then change the ISO to the various steps and do the same thing. Good Luck!
02-16-2011, 05:14 AM   #4