Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2011, 05:08 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Any opinions on used 20d vs. new Kx?

I am a complete newbie and don't actually own a dslr. Back in the day I was very happy with my k1000 film camera and today I am VERY unhappy with my Olympus SP600UZ superzoom. What a piece of crap. Anyway, I had pretty much decided on the Kx (I must admit I'm attracted to the red and the white versions). Had been considering the Canon T1i, but the Kx is cheaper, which is a big bonus. What started me wondering though, is that while going through the photos on this site, I noticed an awful lot were taken with the 20d (and 10d). I really don't know much about this camera (I researched the Kx to death) other than that, when new, it was a much more expensive camera than the Kx, but that it can be bought for Kx type prices used. So . . . I'm not sure if that would be a wise move or not. I take mostly indoor and outdoor family gathering pics, the occasional landscape, and would love to get into portraits (but taking good portraits looks like a tough art, but I'd still like to aspire to it). Any thoughts from anyone would be appreciated before I make either a dumb or smart move. Thanks.

02-16-2011, 05:21 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I would go with the Kx. I have one and it is GREAT for indoor family shots. This is where the K20 will lack. High ISO on the K20 cannot compare to the Kx. Where the K20 is better is at low ISO (100-200). The K20 is also weather sealed and the Kx is not, not sure if this is important to you. The Kx also has video and the K20 does not.

There are other minor differences but I suggest asking yourself which are more important to you:

Low ISO (K20) vs High ISO (Kx) performance

Weather sealed (K20) vs non (Kx)

No video (K20) vs video (Kx)

Used K20 vs New Kx
02-16-2011, 05:27 PM   #3
Veteran Member

K20D was old, chunky with slow AF. Get the K-x.