Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-02-2011, 05:49 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Failure to Fire

Hi guys,
I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to shooting with a DSLR, (I have the K-7) but i keep finding myself having my camera pick and choose when it wants to shoot.

Ie I press the shutter release..... Nothing. I have tried switching between different modes to stop this but nothing seems to fix the problems.
It tends to do this when i shoot in low light.
My feeling was it might have had some limiter that would stop it shooting if there wasnt enough light but i couldnt find anything in the manual about it!

I know its gonna be some silly little check box somewhere :/

Thanks to who ever can enlighten me

Cheers,
Scott

03-02-2011, 05:53 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Chaos_Realm Quote
Hi guys,
I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to shooting with a DSLR, (I have the K-7) but i keep finding myself having my camera pick and choose when it wants to shoot.

Ie I press the shutter release..... Nothing. I have tried switching between different modes to stop this but nothing seems to fix the problems.
My feeling was it might have had some limiter that would stop it shooting if there wasnt enough light but i couldnt find anything in the manual about it!

I know its gonna be some silly little check box somewhere :/

Thanks to who ever can enlighten me

Cheers,
Scott
If the camera doesn't achieve focus lock it won't fire. If the green hexagon doesn't appear on the info line in the viewfinder, the camera isn't focused. If you put the camera in MF mode it will fire when there is no focus lock.
03-02-2011, 06:09 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Hmm I will have to check that.
I am too used to the old Point and shoot camera taking a photo when ever I wanted it to.

I knew it would be something stupid!

Cheers