Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-02-2011, 10:37 PM   #1

Tips for shooting in snow?

Hey everyone, I'll be going skiing in Beaver Creek, Colorado for a ski trip soon for spring break. I will be taking my Pentax K-X camera and gear for pictures/video. I would like some tips from you guys on shooting in snow (snowy mountain peaks) . I know the general conditions for maintaining digital cameras in cold weather. More specifically I want tips on shooting in snow for the best shots/footage. Your help will be much appreciated. Thanks!

-David

03-02-2011, 11:45 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I'm a new K-x owner too... using the K-x (or any camera) in the snow has proven to be very tricky for me. Because of all the white, bright snow it's hard to get a good exposure. But it's been a good learning experience. I'm a beginner so take this for what it's worth ... some guy on the Internet you've never met giving advice.

What I've tried is first setting it to "bright" scene mode (sun/snow) and watching what the camera picks when I compose. This is sort of cheating, but it helps.

What you will find is that because of all the bright snow the camera will underexpose if you let it. It will see a bunch of white and try to tone it down to gray. So adding to the EV helps. How much to add depends on the scene. I would also bracket to find out which looks best.

After that it all depends on what you're shooting. The best thing is to experiment, it's the only way to learn.
03-02-2011, 11:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by nutballa Quote