Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2011, 03:32 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Convince me to go Pentax!

Hi all

This looks an information packed set of forums!

I'm new to dSLR photography and have been doing a course in the evenings for a few weeks recently.

I'm going to buy my first dSLR in a couple of weeks and it'll either be the Nikon d3100 or the Pentax k-r.

I'm thinking of the latter, primarily because of its battery flexibility - I've done a few holidays in the past where access to charging sockets has been very limited.

The only area where the Nikon really seems to score is the ease and quality of its HD video. I can't see me using this to a huge extent really

Basically, I'm still a bit undecided and wondered if anyone could reassure me that I'm making a really good choice if I go for the Pentax!

Any info gratefully received!

Si

03-11-2011, 03:52 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
This is a Pentax forum. Are you expecting many "buy Nikon" answers?

You should look in camera database for features you might like, and the threads dedicated to them and specific series of lenses, such as FA Limited, DA Limited (for nice primes) to see if you like the results.

Also compare prices between the brands of the first 3 or 5 lenses you want. Sometimes those are the decision makers.
03-11-2011, 04:02 PM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Popty Ping Quote
Convince me to go Pentax!

Nope, I'm happy with Pentax and I don't feel the need to try and convince you to buy one. If you do then good choice .. if not then I hope you will be happy with which ever brand you decide to purchase.
03-11-2011, 04:15 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums