Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2011, 08:49 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Help me choose a prime!

Hi Pentaxians,
I have been using film Pentax for about 2 yrs, and acquired my k7 a month back and I want to add a fix focal length lens to my arsenal! The lenses I am considering are the following:
Voigtlander 40mm 2.0 SLII
Voigtlander 58mm 1.4 SLII
DA 40mm 2.8 Limited

all of them can be found on ebay for roughly 450 including tax and shipping.

I like to shoot portraits, and will be doing some traveling in the summer, so getting into landscape as well. I actually prefer the manual focusing, it isn't a real downside for me. My other choice is to spend roughly 150 dollars more for a FA 43mm, but the price is getting a bit too steep for me at the moment.

I would love to hear your opinions on the above lenses!! and also if there are other candidates that fits the profile, please make suggestions!

03-11-2011, 08:55 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you'd like to buy one of these lenses from folks on the forum, you can start a thread here: Wanted Items - PentaxForums.com

For landscapes, 30-40mm primes are ideal, whereas for portraiture 70-90mm is better. Since the Voigtlander is what comes closest to a portrait lens out of the three lenses you listed, that's what I'd choose!

Personally, I just walk around with my 85mm and let it rip, so if you ask me, that's the ideal FL.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
03-11-2011, 09:06 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter