Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2011, 01:41 PM   #1

K20D exposure woes

Hi everyone,

I'll start by saying that I'm pretty new to photography and would like some help diagnosing a problem with my newly acquired K20. Not sure if it user, mechanical, incorrect setting etc.

When I attempt to take photos all I get is a black screen. The histogram only has a small reading on the left side and nothing elsewhere. If I stop down to f13 range I can start to get pictures but they don't look very good.

I purchased this to replace my *ist DS which I was able to operate with no troubles.

Any insight? Is something wrong with this camera?

Thanks in advance for any help.

-Nick

03-12-2011, 02:22 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nick, there isn't enough information to know why there is such gross underexposure.
For starters, go out in the day time, shoot a few shots at f/8, and see the exposure of the images.
Then, if you want to stop down further, ensure that if you're handholding you have a fast enough shutter speed to get sharp subjects in your images.

If this is a little vague, then a quick read on the exposure triad will give you the info you need to get good shots from the camera.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photography-articles/62522-exposure-shutt...rture-iso.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photography-articles/23232-learning-basic...echniques.html
03-12-2011, 02:33 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Ash is right. There's not enough information here.

What lens are you using? What camera mode are you using? What ISO setting are you using? Where are you taking the pictures, indoors or outdoors? What type of light are you using? Ambient light or flash? If flash, what model flash?

Posting a picture, with EXIF intact, would help.
03-12-2011, 02:43 PM   #4
Inactive Account