Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-19-2011, 01:19 PM   #1

Equipment decisions, help me please!

Hi everyone-

After a great deal of wrestling in my mind, I have decided to pass on the new high end sophisticated Point and Shoots such as the Olympus XZ-1 and Panasonic LX-5. I have been using a Powershot P & S for about 5 years and am tired of limited IQ. I have mostly settled on a getting a Pentax DSLR of some type.

I am essentially very ignorant regarding DSLR except for what I have been able to learn from the internet the past couple of months. I need to decide soon so I can have some experience before an 8 day backpacking trip this summer to Isle Royale.

My situation:

I am active as a Boy Scout leader and like to take pictures for our web page, slide shows etc.

Conditions encountered:

Winter camping for several nights at a time. Easily cold as 0 F at night. Also take pictures when snowing, including skiing shots, etc.

Photos taken around the campfire. Photos taken of kids doing merit badges such as boating, shooting, etc.

Camera carried on multi-day backpacking trips of 15-45 miles in length. People shots as well as landscape.

My kids are in high school and I would like to be able to take photos of wrestling and volleyball matches in gyms of varying light conditions. Also take pictures in low light such as the end of year banquets etc.

I would really like like to be able to get into some macro type shots in the future.

Because I am so new to this I am wondering if starting out with a relatively inexpensive K-x would be best to learn on and also minimize lost money if I determine that DSLR is not for me. I know that it is not weather sealed, but is that a problem that can be dealt with in other ways?

or would it make more sense to start with a K-7 which is weather resistant. I am concerned about what I have read regarding low light performance. The k-7 does still perk my interest.